The Water Lily Way

A school counselor's story of how to live, work and play…the water lily way

Monday Mindfulness

Leave a comment

You may chuckle when reading the title of this post, “Monday Mindfulness.” You may be thinking, my Monday was anything but mindful!!! What is this girl talking about??? It may exhaust you just to think of all that you did today to start off the work week after the weekend. If that’s the case, let me tell you, I am right there with you! My Monday was very far from mindful. But of course, that is just what inspired me to begin bringing us a little Monday Mindfulness.

Today was the start to week three of my semester. I start off my weeks at an elementary school as part of my practicum course and we are busy! My supervisor is so passionate and extremely involved with her school. I have learned a ton from her already and I have only been at my site for a total of three school days. I am pretty tired at the end of the day, but it is all totally worth it. I love every minute of it!

With that said, I usually leave my site before 4 p.m. and then head to our rec and wellness center on campus. I teach a HIT (interval training) class from 4:30-5:30. Most days it only takes me about 20 minutes to go from my site to campus, but today it was over double that as we received a lot of snow this afternoon. That’s just part of living in Wisconsin, you just never know what your commute is going to be! Needless to say, I got a little “extra” exercise in today as I was running into the rec center to get to my class on time.

Once home, it’s the normal night routine. Dinner, dishes, preparing for tomorrow, and oh yeah, homework time! Homework time, how about bed time? I’m sure you can relate to wanting nothing more than to relax after a long day, but the list of things to do is still there. Well, there is just where mindfulness can come in…

For me, mindfulness is KEY on Monday’s. To keep myself going and mentally fresh after a long day, I’ve found it important to just take a few minutes to simply breathe. By doing this I feel refreshed, but mostly I feel relaxed. Maybe you have another day in your week where engaging in a mindfulness practice could help you feel a bit more centered, at ease, relieve a little stress, or just allow you a few minutes of time for you. Every Monday I will share something related to mindfulness. I am going to challenge you to try and find a point during your day or week to try out a mindful exercise or technique.

Now you be might be thinking, “when do I have time for that?” It’s hard, I know! Our days are packed, they are filled from sun up to sun down. But many of the exercises I will post will only require a few minutes! I understand that time is limited during the day. The links I will share with you today offer some different exercises that are only five minutes! Five minutes of your day, for you, for your mind, for your mental health. I know you can do it!

For my educators and counselors out there, I have posted a site that specifically provides mindfulness exercises that can be done with students. While the school day is full and there are so many expectations of what needs to be done each day in our classrooms, taking five mindful minutes with your students can be so impactful. The website I’ve listed below offers some wonderful research that supports mindfulness in education in addition to mindfulness exercises for youth. And not to worry, we’ll talk more about the research supporting mindfulness for students, for adults, for all, in the future..

For this weeks Monday Mindfulness

Here are two links with different options for you to try out. Each link contains different exercises, different techniques and different styles of practices. If you’re not fond of one, I encourage you to try another! 🙂

The Center for Contemplative Mind in Society offers a variety of audio recordings for use on their website. The recordings range from 5-12 minutes.

http://www.contemplativemind.org/practices/recordings

Educators and counselors, next is the link to “Mindful Schools.” Under ‘About Mindfulness’ and then ‘Mindfulness Exercises’ you will find several different exercises that you can do in class with your students. Still, while this site is called “Mindful Schools,” the exercises can be done by anyone!!!

http://www.mindfulschools.org/about-mindfulness/mindfulness-exercises/

Be well, and be mindful. 🙂

Jessica

 

Author: jesserannp

Professional School Counseling Graduate Student

Leave a Reply

