The Water Lily Way

A school counselor's story of how to live, work and play…the water lily way

Oats, oats, oats! PB Avocado Cookies & Baked Oatmeal

Leave a comment

Happpppy Wednesday! I had a request to keep posting recipes –my kind of request! The first recipe is one of my favs from a blog called The Lean Green Bean. Lindsay (blogger) is a registered dietician and has an array of healthy recipes on her website. Something I particularly like about her recipes are that the ingredients are typically pretty common and her recipes do not call for a ton of ingredients. Like I’ve said before, I enjoy cooking nutritious meals/snacks, but I like using ingredients that I know I will use again, and won’t just sit in my cupboard. I find that from time to time some of the more “healthier” recipes that are out there can require a lot of ingredients, and I believe this can sometimes shy people away from cooking healthy. The truth is though, cooking healthy does not have to be like that at all! I will share some of my favorite entrée’s from her blog in the future, but I am going to by giving you a recipe for a tasty little treat. I have to add, these cookies are “dad, boyfriend, sister and mom” approved. These four people are my guinea pigs, and get to taste everything I make & bake. I promise you, I’ve made “healthy treats” before and they’ve told me never again, never again. They are VERY honest if something tastes like it’s just “too good for you” –if that makes sense? But with these PB avocado cookies, they came back asking for more! Don’t let the avocado part make you nervous, it makes the cookies SO moist.

The second recipe I’m sharing with you today is now a staple for me, my family, and is also a popular breakfast when I’m with my partner and friends. BAKED OATMEAL! The ABSOLUTE best way to eat oatmeal. It’s not your typical, warm oatmeal. The texture is different, the taste is different…trust me, you have to try it! There are millions of baked oatmeal recipes out there, and I am always trying new ones. The one I listed uses apples as one of the main ingredients, but I have also made berry (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries and/or blackberries) baked oatmeal’s and pumpkin ones in the fall. When I’m with my family a pan of this goes like nothing! When I’m away at school, I can make one pan and I’ll have my breakfast (or I like cutting them into squares & having them for snacks) ready to go for a full week. You can google “baked oatmeal” or search for recipes on pinterest and get hundreds of results. I did list the Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal recipe below, but you can also find the recipe  by clicking here.

Now get baking! 🙂

Peanut Butter Avocado Cookies

Prep: 5 minutes

Cook time: 14 minutes

pbcookies

Ingredients:

1/3 c smashed avocado

2/3 c peanut butter

1 egg

3 Tbsp honey (or agave nectar)

3/4 c oats

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 c dark chocolate chips

Directions:

1.)    Combine wet ingredients until well mixed.

2.)    Add dry ingredients.

3.)    Stir in chocolate chips.

4.)    Scoop onto baking sheet and flatten slightly with a fork.

5.)    Bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes.

 

Apple Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal

oatmeal

Ingredients:

2 c rolled oats

1 ½ tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup raisins

2 c diced apples

3 eggs

2 c milk (I love using almond milk, but any kind will work just fine)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 c light brown sugar

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 Tbsp chopped pecans/walnuts (optional)

Directions:

1.)    Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease an 8x8inch baking dish.

2.)    In a large bowl, mix together oats, baking powder and salt. Stir in apples, pecans and raisins, then set aside.

3.)    In another bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Pour over dry mixture and stir all ingredients together.

4.)    Pour everything into a greased dish and bake for about an hour, or until golden brown.

Author: jesserannp

Professional School Counseling Graduate Student

Leave a Reply

